Facebook Icon Twitter Icon YouTube Icon Pintrest Icon Flickr Google Plus Icon Email Icon


The 2009 Board Commendation Awards are presented to the following seven individuals who have gone above and beyond serving their communities. Each recipient will be recognized at the 19th Annual Environmental Excellence Awards Celebration on November 17 at the Skirvin Hilton Hotel in the heart of Oklahoma City.

The following individuals will be honored:

Mr. John Kahre - Tulsa

The Champion Volunteer Award is presented to an Oklahoman who operates clearly out of devotion and commitment for at least ten years to promote environmental improvement. Mr. Kahre donates his personal time and resources to improve and preserve the urban forest throughout the state.

The Apache Foundation - Houston

The President’s Philanthropy Award honors a corporation, organization or foundation that has made an extraordinary contribution through inkind or charitable giving toward improving the aesthetic, environmental or sustainable life in Oklahoma.  Although the Apache Foundation's "Tree Planting Program" is relatively new, it has had a tremendous, positive impact in Oklahoma. Apache partnered with The Tree Bank in Oklahoma City and Up With Trees in Tulsa  to respond to severe tree loss from ice storms. With an original goal of planting one million trees in Oklahoma ... based on demonstrated need, Apache has now doubled that goal.

Mr. Ray Ackerman (Ackerman McQueen), The Honorable Ron Norick (Former Mayor of Oklahoma City)

The Visionary Leadership award is given to a person(s), institution, community or business in Oklahoma with a unique view on environmental or community improvement and has inspired others to adopt that philosophy. Mr. Ackerman and Mr. Norick have played  leading roles in the transformation of Oklahoma City from an oil bust town to the constantly renovating, expanding and developing city we see today. The Metropolitan Area Project (MAPS) was a $300 billion dollar downtown development plan that came from the mind and heart of Ron Norick - and was championed by Ray Ackerman.  Their vision, contagious enthusiasm and leadership continue to influence the advancement of Oklahoma City.

Mr. Joe Cox (HIS Paint Mfg) - Oklahoma City

The Towering Spirit Award honors a person, business or organization for supporting the KOB mission in a unique way, garnering public acclaim and having a far-reaching positive impact on Oklahoma’s environment.   Over the past five years, Joe Cox, president of H.I.S. Paint Manufacturing Company,  has donated more than 2,500 gallons of H.I.S. latex exterior paint to the Keep Oklahoma Beautiful Fresh Paint Days project, one of KOB's most exciting and successful programs.  

Guaranteed Watt Savers - Oklahoma City

The Vanguard Award is presented to a person, institution, community or business in Oklahoma for embracing cutting-edge technologies and concepts in support of a sustainable planet. Guaranteed Watt Saver Systems, based in Oklahoma City,  is the nation’s leading firm specializing in Energy Efficiency Engineering and Building Science Consulting.  Guaranteed Watt Savers was a partner with the US Department of Energy and the EPA in developing The Energy Star program helping US industry and business to save billions of dollars in utility costs.

James E. Horne, PhD (Kerr Center for Sustainable Agriculture) - Poteau

Lifetime Achievement recipients are chosen by the board of directors from among those Oklahomans who have shown a strong commitment to improving, preserving, beautifying and sustaining Oklahoma’s environment. Dr. Horne has an extraordinary passion for transforming conventional agriculture with daring innovation, creativity and rock solid research.  He continues to find ways to incorporate sustainable practices into the farming industry. 

Bookmark and Share